Absolut Vodka Reviews and Cocktail Recipes

  • 01 of 09

    About Absolut Vodkas

    Absolut Vodkas
    Absolut Vodkas dominate the modern vodka market. Getty Images News

    Almost everyone has heard the name Absolut Vodka. It is one of the most popular brands in the ever-changing vodka industry and it is hard to find a bar or liquor shelf that is not adorned with those distinct bottles.

    Over the years, Absolut has become a name that is synonymous with premium vodka and great advertising. The brand's ad campaigns are legendary and many creative professionals dream of working on one while looking at the archive as inspiration for their own work.

    It is, quite...MORE honestly, Absolut Vodka's brilliant marketing that has made the brand the household name that it is today. The vodka itself is good, some would say great, yet there are equally (if not better) vodkas available on the market today. The debate over which vodka is better is one that could and does go on for a lifetime and whatever your stance, you do have to admit that few brands have the prestige as Absolut.

    Today, Absolut is one of the leaders in flavored vodkas as well. Their portfolio is always expanding and it seems like there is always a limited edition bottling or two available somewhere in the world. Their 'city vodka' line is one of the best examples of the vodka giant's successful and on-going special edition campaigns.

    Absolut Vodka currently offers the following bottlings...
    Updated: July 10, 2015

    Absolut Clear Vodkas

    • Absolut Vodka - 80 proof standard
    • Absolut 100 - 100 proof
    • Absolut Elyx - hand-crafted, single estate vodka
    • Absolut Amber - aged in oak

    Absolut Flavored Vodkas

    • Absolut Apeach
    • Absolut Apple
    • Absolut Berry Acai
    • Absolut Cherrys
    • Absolut Cilantro
    • Absolut Citron
    • Absolut Grape
    • Absolut Hibiskus
    • Absolut Kurant
    • Absolut Mandarin
    • Absolut Mango
    • Absolut Pears
    • Absolut Peppar
    • Absolut Raspberri
    • Absolut Ruby Red
    • Absolut Vanilia
    • Absolut Wild Tea

    About Absolut Vodka

    • Swedish vodka distilled three times from rich winter wheat.
    • First released in the U.S. in 1979.
    • Imported by Pernod Ricard
    • Most vodkas are 40% alcohol/volume (80 proof)
    • Retail for around $20/ 750ml bottle

    Visit the Absolut Website

    Continue to 2 of 9 below.
  • 02 of 09

    Absolut Vodka Cocktails

    Absolut Sage Lady Cocktail Recipe
    A little cucumber, a bit of sage, and Absolut Mango Vodka and you have one fine Sage Lady. Photo Credit S&C Design Studios

    Absolut is one of the biggest names in the vodka industry and it mixes nicely in almost any vodka cocktail that you could imagine. The portfolio includes a growing number of flavored vodkas that are just as interesting and smooth as the original.

    Absolut Cocktail Recipes

    Continue to 3 of 9 below.
  • 03 of 09

    Absolut Mango Vodka Review

    Absolut Vodka's Mango Spice Cocktail Recipe
    Absolut's Mango Spice Cocktail is a fun contrast of flavors in which you can experience the sweet taste of mango with the spiciness of jalapenos. Photo Courtesy: Shannon Graham

    In March of 2009 Absolut Vodka released its tenth flavored vodka to the United States market. Prior to this, the mango-infused vodka has been available in some South American markets where the company claims it had great success due to the use of the fruit in Latin cuisine.

    The release of Absolut Mango is timely, as mango has seen its way into more and more cocktails as of late and the vodka is a nice use of the flavor.

    The Review

    Absolut Mango is exactly what I expected: it's smooth, full of...MORE fruit and a great cocktail base. It is exactly what we expect from Absolut's flavored vodkas.  The choice of mango is a nice addition to the portfolio and for all of us who love to play with infusions, we can rest assured that mango will almost certainly be available for the long term.

    Over recent years, mango vodkas have been on the rise and Absolut's is among the best that I've tried to date. It's a nice flavor and an easy way to get mango into your drinks when the fresh fruit is out of season.

    Mixing with Absolut Mango

    Mango is a flavor that hasn't been common in cocktails prior to recent years and this is refreshing because it requires a new thinking on flavor profiles.

    This vodka is fantastic for bringing some tropical flavor contrast to the apple of an Apple Martini and the melon of a Greentini and it could also be paired with banana, citrus, and even vanilla and caramel.

    It is in cocktails where Absolut Mango shines - alone it's nothing spectacular - and the feature drinks from its launch like the Sage Lady and Mango Spice are great examples of its possibilities.

    I am particularly impressed with it when matched with spice. That may be due to my desire for more Absolut New Orleans (which paired mango and pepper) and sparks an idea of a cocktail that includes both Mango and Peppar in some fashion (I'll be sure to pass that along if anything comes out of it).

    About Absolut Mango Vodka

    Originally Published: March 24, 2009

    Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the manufacturer. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

    Continue to 4 of 9 below.
  • 04 of 09

    Absolut Berry Acai Vodka Review

    Absolut Los Angeles Vodka in a Trainer Approved Cocktail
    Simple and refreshing, this is a cocktail that has been Trainer Approved. Photo Courtesy: Shannon Graham

    Berri Açai is the eleventh flavor in the Absolut Vodka line. As the name indicates, it is infused with the flavor of the açai berry (one of the hottest new flavors) along with blueberry and pomegranate.

    Aside from the cherry, this is an almost identical vodka to Absolut's 2008 limited edition bottling of Los Angeles. If you enjoyed that while it was available, you will enjoy the Berri Açai and the great news is that this new version is now a part of Absolut's regular line of flavors so it...MORE should be found regularly on liquor store shelves.

    The Review

    I have to admit that açai is not one of my favorite fruits when it comes to vodka. There is something about the flavor, no matter which brand it is, that is too medicinal, much in the same way cherry vodkas often are.

    However, Absolut Berri Açai is probably second on my list right behind Van Gogh's Açai-Blueberry. The main difference between the two is clearly the color and if you desire an açai vodka to mix with that doesn't have that strong purple color, Absolut is the perfect alternative.

    As with most Absolut Vodka's, Berri Açai truly shines inside a mixed drink. Its flavor profile is predominantly açai, with the blueberry and pomegranate creating nice accents, so this is a vodka that clearly lends itself to fruity cocktails.

    I suggest beginning where Absolut LA left off, which is great because they did create some very good cocktails (Trainer Approved and Sunset Strip) when that one was released. This release has also allowed me to revive one of my favorite creations, the LAX Cocktail, because the colored açai vodkas did not fair well against X-Rated's brilliant pink and the cocktail looked muddier than I like.

    Overall, I like Absolut's move with the release of Berri Açai. It was the next logical flavor for the brand and is likely to be a good addition for Absolut-filled bars. It's a nice flavored vodka that begins with a smooth vodka so if you are a fan of either açai or Absolut I think you are going to enjoy this one.

    Tasting Notes:

    You cannot miss the perfume of Absolut Berri Açai as the aroma will fill a room in seconds, though it is a sweet, inviting mixed of candied fruits so it's not a bad smell. The vodka has that signature Absolut silkiness, which is highlighted with dark, soft fruits that are noticeably less sweet than the nose alluded to. This is not a vodka that you will forget because the finish is long and warm and filled with tangy berries.

    About Absolut Berry Acai Vodka

    • Vodka infused with açai berry, blueberry, and pomegranate. All natural flavor ingredients, no sugar or preservatives added.
    • Imported by Absolut Spirits Co
    • 40% alcohol/volume (80 proof)
    • Retails for around $24/750ml bottle
    • Released in February 2010
    • Visit Their Website

    Originally Published: March 17, 2010

    Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the manufacturer. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

    Continue to 5 of 9 below.
  • 05 of 09

    Absolut City Vodkas

    Absolut City Vodkas
    Each year, Absolut releases a new flavored vodka inspired by American cities, including New Orleans, Brooklyn, Boston, and Chicago. Photo Courtesy: © Absolut Vodka

    Once a year since 2007, Absolut Vodka has released a special flavored vodka inspired by select cities in the United States. These 'city vodkas' are limited edition bottlings that combine unique flavors that are designed to capture the essence of the place.

    With each new vodka, Absolut donates a portion of its sales to a charity in the city as well.

    It has been a fun journey to experience these custom creations over the years. Most are fabulous flavors and, as with most Absolut Vodka, could...MORE be used to create some fantastic cocktails.

    Though these vodkas are no longer available, you may come across an unopened bottle in the future and wonder how to mix with it. In the following pages, I've included the reviews I've done in the past on a few of the city vodkas for you to explore.

    We can also take these flavor blends as inspiration. If you enjoy making your own vodka infusions and are looking for unique pairings, there are some fun ideas coming out of this series.

    Previously Released Absolut City Vodkas

    Updated: July 10, 2015

    • Absolut Texas (2014) - cucumber and serrano chile
    • Absolut Chicago (2013) - olive and rosemary
    • Absolut Miami (2012) - passion fruit and orange blossom
    • Absolut San Francisco (2011) - grape, dragon fruit, and papaya
    • Absolut Brooklyn (2010) - red apple and ginger
    • Absolut Boston (2009) - black tea and elderflower
    • Absolut Los Angeles (2008) - blueberry, acai berry, acerola cherry, and pomegranate
    • Absolut New Orleans (2007) - mango and black pepper
    Continue to 6 of 9 below.
  • 06 of 09

    Absolut Brooklyn Vodka Review

    Absolut Brooklyn Vodka's Brooklyn Stoop Party Cocktail Recipe
    Mix the apple and ginger flavor of Absolut Brooklyn with cranberry juice and ginger ale for a refreshing Brooklyn Stoop Party. Photo Courtesy: © Shannon Graham

    Absolut Vodka released the fourth in its 'city line' of flavored vodkas for the 2010 summer season and it may be one of the best to date. The vodka is labeled Absolut Brooklyn and it is a "Spike Lee Colaboration" with a fun caricature of the steps of a brownstone donning the bottle.

    As with each of the city vodkas from Absolut, Brooklyn is a limited edition and the sweet blend of red apple and ginger is delicious. Sadly, it is a flavored vodka that will not last forever, though...MORE from the limited sales Absolut will be donating $50,000 to Habitat for Humanity - New York City.

    The Review

    I think that what I have come to enjoy most about the Absolut "city" vodkas is the experimentation of flavors. These limited editions are a chance for the vodka giant to play with tastes that may not be viable on the regular market. I have found each to be interesting and have been impressed by some more than others. Absolut Brooklyn falls on the positive side.

    Absolut Brooklyn's flavor is one that a few home infusion enthusiasts have likely experimented with and if you haven't yet, it is a great idea to try out when this bottling disappears from the shelves in a few months. The combination of red apple and ginger make a great tasting vodka and it is one that can be mixed in simple mixed drinks that have an amazing flavor.

    This is such a great tasting vodka that the fewer the mixers in a drink, the better. Two of the promotional drinks from Absolut Brooklyn show this off:

    • Absolut Brooklyn Stoop Party is made of equal parts of the vodka, cranberry juice, and ginger ale.
    • Absolut Brooklyn Ginger skips the cranberry, leaving the vodka to ginger ale ratio at 1 1/2:2.

    I highly recommend this vodka for those who love to explore flavored vodkas and the drinks that are possible with them. As with other Absolut specialty bottles, this will only be available for a few months, so you will want to check it out soon.

    Tasting Notes:

    This is a very, very aromatic vodka and will easily fill the room with its sweet, summery fragrance. The taste is subtle and well balanced between the bright apple and spicy ginger. It is neither too spicy nor too sweet and is as smooth and clean finishing as we have come to expect from Absolut.

    About Absolut Brooklyn Vodka

    • Red apple and ginger infused Absolut Vodka
    • The fourth in a series of vodkas inspired by American cities.
    • Imported by Absolut Spirits Co.
    • Released in June 2010
    • Retails for around $25/750ml bottle
    • 40% alcohol/volume (80 proof)

    Originally Published: June 8, 2010

    Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the manufacturer. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

    Continue to 7 of 9 below.
  • 07 of 09

    Absolut Boston Vodka Review

    Absolut Vodka's Boston Tea Party Martini Cocktail Recipe
    Simple and sophisticated, the Boston Tea Party Martini is a nice way to enjoy the interesting black tea flavor of Absolut Boston Vodka. Photo Courtesy: Shannon Graham

    The iconic vodka company we all know as Absolut has taken another bold leap and it is a bold one. If you have a taste of their third "city" vodka you will not forget the experience, that is the one guarantee.

    However, I will not guarantee that you will like the flavor of Absolut Boston - I had mixed reviews on it and found that you will either fall in love or despise the black tea it is infused with. This bottling does not have the sweet citrus that offset the pepper of their New Orleans,...MORE nor is it subtly delicious like the Los Angeles. Yet, Boston has fantastic cocktail potential when mixed properly.

    As with all of the Absolut "city" vodkas, the proceeds for the sales, massing $50,000, will be donated to a local charity, which in this case is Charles River Conservancy to improve Boston's urban riverbanks. Also, the bottle design seems a little simple for the brand, but it reflects the most famous left field wall in baseball so there's a fun twist for Red Sox fans.

    The Review

    Absolut Boston is infused with black tea and elderflower with the black tea at the forefront of the infusion. This Boston Tea Party influence is the most noticeable aspect and is a fitting commemoration for the city.

    The taste of the vodka itself is one that takes some getting used to. If you love to sit down with a piping hot cup of black tea you may enjoy Absolut Boston and how it captures those interesting flavors when poured over a touch of ice.

    However, the aroma of this vodka is very pungent - I am getting strong waves as it sits across my desk - and for those who are put off by such a powerful smell, this could be too much and stop your from trying it out.

    The reviews at a tasting I had were mixed and it was clearly divided between the tea lovers and haters. I prefer lighter teas and this black tea is just a little too much for my taste.

    That said, there is always (hopefully) potential when it comes to cocktails and there are a few that are here to save the day. Absolut Boston's signatures like the Boston Tea Party Martini and Homerun, do a great job of balancing the tea, although I do have some question about a Mojito using Boston as they suggested.

    The key to mixing with this is to balance out the tea with sweets and sours and I have been playing with a combination of Boston with Fruit Lab's new Theia hibiscus liqueur, which brings out the elderflower just a little more.

    The best Absolut vodka yet? No, but it's interesting for acquired tastes.

    About Absolut Boston Vodka

    • Absolut Vodka infused with black tea and elderflower.
    • Third release in Absolut's city vodkas, inspired by American cities.
    • Sale proceeds are donated to the Charles River Conservatory.
    • Produced by Absolut Spirits Co.
    • Released in August, 2009
    • 40% alcohol/volume (80 proof)
    • Retails for $24.99/1 liter bottle
    • Visit Their Website

    Originally Published: August 26, 2009

    Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the manufacturer. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

    Continue to 8 of 9 below.
  • 08 of 09

    Absolut Los Angeles Vodka Review

    Absolut Berry Acai Vodka's Sunset Strip Cocktail Recipe
    Fresh watermelon and cranberry juice combine with Absolut Los Angeles Vodka for a fun Sunset Strip cocktail. Bill Boch / Photographer's Choice RF / Getty Images

    Absolut Los Angeles Vodka is the second multi-flavored vodka in the brands "city" line and is an excellent follow-up to last year's Absolut New Orleans.

    The LA bottling is another special edition flavored with all-natural blueberry, acai berry, acerola cherry and pomegranate. The flavor combination was inspired by Los Angeles' proclivity for healthy lifestyles and eating and takes on some of the fruits recently popularized in the city's fitness culture.

    In keeping with the...MORE "city" philosophy of philanthropy Absolut plans to donate $250,000 of the vodka's sales to Green Way LA. This organization concentrates on restoring the nature and natural of the city through a Green Streets initiative.

    The Review

    Absolut Los Angeles is refreshing, uplifting and a perfect blend of fruits. At first, I was concerned about the blue and acai berry additions because other vodkas that have taken on those flavors have been disappointing. However, I think the pomegranate and cherry have balanced that in this infusion.

    I'm fond of it chilled over ice and it's potential for cocktails is substantial. When mixing with this, add just a few light mixers and enjoy the vodka's flavor as a base.

    Absolut LA Cocktails

    Tasting Notes:

    Very fruity, potent aroma with the blueberry and pomegranate mixing for a bright introduction. Burnt fruit entry leading to a richly fruit concoction that swells on the palate: all of the fruits mix and swirl with one after another making it's own debut. The finish is nice, subtle and quick.

    About Absolut Los Angeles Vodka

    • Limited edition vodka infused with acai berry, acerola cherry, pomegranate and blueberry.
    • Distilled in Ahus, Sweden
    • Imported by Absolut Spirits Co.
    • 40% alcohol/volume (80 proof)
    • Retails for around $20/750ml bottle
    • Released in July 2008
    • $250,000 of sales donated to Green Way LA
    • Visit Absolut's Website

    Originally Published: July 30, 2008

    Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the manufacturer. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.

    Continue to 9 of 9 below.
  • 09 of 09

    Absolut New Orleans Vodka Review

    Absolut Vodka's Voodoo Priestess Cocktail
    If you have a pepper vodka, think about mixing it with mango in the Voodoo Priestess. Foodcollection RF/Getty Images

    There was a lot of hype surrounding the release of Absolut New Orleans and that always makes me wonder if the vodka's worth it, especially coming from an advertising guru company like Absolut. However, this first in the series of city-inspired vodkas is worth every sip.

    Not only is the New Orleans vodka, with it's infusion blend of mango and black pepper, one of the best infused vodkas available, it's also a feel-good purchase because Absolut is donating 100% of it's profits to...MORE Gulf Coast charities. But you have to check it out fast because it's a limited edition and when it's gone, it's gone.

    The Review

    Absolut New Orleans Vodka is simply one of the best infusions I've had in a long time. The mango and spicy black pepper is balanced to perfection and the richness of the flavors rival most gins on the market.

    For the classic martini lover who has shunned bland or fruity vodka, New Orleans is one not to miss. If you're a vodka connoisseur, this is one to mark in the books. It's just a shame that it will be gone sooner than we'd like.

    The cocktails in which Absolut New Orleans shines are varied and numerous. It is spectacular in a Vodka Martini and makes a fabulous Moscow Mule, Vodka Tonic, Damiana Golden and French 76. Lately I've been opting for the Bloody Maria over the Bloody Mary because of a lack of punch from normal vodkas, but this New Orleans vodka put the spice back in my Mary.

    It's versatile, yes, but this vodka doesn't work in every vodka drink. The spice doesn't pair well with creamy drinks (although I have heard of a Milk Punch that may be good) or in some of the classic fruit mixed drinks (Cape Cod, Bay Breeze, etc.).

    Almost any drink with herbs is going to showcase the vodka wonderfully as well.

    Absolut New Orleans Cocktails

    • Big Breezy
    • Bourbon Street Jump
    • Jazz Collins
    • Voodoo Priestess

    Tasting Notes:

    The nose of Absolut New Orleans is very fragrant, filled with sweet mango, tangerine and rose. This vodka has a spicy entry that leads to an intriguingly complex palate filled with small bursts of spice making appearances through the velvety, steady fruit undertones. There's strong black pepper at the back that warms the throat and cools into a mellow fruit syrup with repeated snaps of spice on the tongue that last for quite a while.

    About Absolut New Orleans Vodka

    Originally Published: October 30, 2007

    Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the manufacturer. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.