All About Your Feng Shui Bagua for Your Home or Office

  • 01 of 06

    Feng Shui Bagua Basics

    green color walls in a room with lilac flowers
    Halfdark/Getty Images

    Feng shui bagua (also called ba-gua or pakua) is one of the main tools used in feng shui to analyze the energy of any given space, be it home, office or garden. Basically, bagua is the feng shui energy map of your space that shows you which areas of your home or office are connected to specific areas of your life.

    Translated from Chinese, Bagua literally means "8 areas." These areas correspond to the most important areas of one's life, the areas that matter the most for one's...MORE health and happiness. What are these areas exactly?

    Here's what the ancient feng shui masters defined as the most important areas - the areas that make up the feng shui bagua.

    How do you find these areas in your home or office? There are 2 ways to define thebagua.

    Continue to 2 of 6 below.
  • 02 of 06

    Bagua Schools

    bagua feng shui
    Influx Productions/Getty

    It is important to understand that there are two different ways, or feng shui school styles used to define the bagua of any space. There is the Classical, or Traditional feng shui school bagua, and then there is the BTB, or Western feng shui school bagua.

    It is best not to apply both styles at the same time, as this will create a lot of confusion and frustration in trying to define your bagua. Choose one bagua style - the one that appeals to you the most - and stick with it in your feng shui...MORE work.

    How do you know which bagua style is best for you and your home? Read the basic info about each one of them, and then decide for yourself. Both are valid ways to define the energy map of your space, and each bagua, when applied correctly, will help you create a strong foundation for your feng shui work.

    Continue to 3 of 6 below.
  • 03 of 06

    Classical vs BTB Bagua

    2 feng shui bagua styles

    Let's look at the basics of the Classical feng shui school bagua. This bagua style is based on the energy of the compass directions, so you need to take an accurate compass reading of your front door - several readings, actually - in order to correctly define the classical feng shui bagua of your home or office.

    This video about the classical bagua will help you: How To Apply the Classical Feng Shui Bagua

    Continue to 4 of 6 below.
  • 04 of 06

    Compass Reading for Classical Bagua

    feng shui compass info
    Sean Justice/Getty Images

    In order to define the Classical or Traditional feng shui bagua of your home or office, you will first need to take a compass reading of your front door. The video on applying the classical feng shui bagua explains how to take the compass reading in any space.

    Continue to 5 of 6 below.
  • 05 of 06

    BTB/Western Bagua

    (c) Ken Lauher

    If you want to apply the BTB, also called the Western feng shui bagua, the process is much easier. Basically, you need to divide the floor plan of your home (or office) in 9 equal squares, and each square will correspond to one of the 8 areas. The 9th square is called the Yin Yang point, or the Heart of the Home  and it energetically relates to all bagua areas.

    This video will help you apply the Western bagua:   How To Apply the Western/BTB Feng Shui Bagua

    Continue to 6 of 6 below.
  • 06 of 06

    Get Ready To Explore Your 8 Bagua Areas

    good feng shui floor plan
    Marc Romanelli/Getty Images

    Once you have decided on your feng shui bagua style and have defined the bagua of your home, you can proceed to explore the specific energetic needs of each bagua area. When you treat each bagua area of your home well, the whole house benefits from a harmonious and vibrant energy.

    Each of the 8 feng shui bagua areas has a specific feng shui element, feng shui color, as well as life area connected to it. For example, your North bagua area is connected to the energy of your career success and it...MORE thrives on the energy of the Water feng shui element; your Southwest area influences your Love and Marriage energy dynamic and it needs the support of the Fire and Earth feng shui elements.

    Continue Reading: The 8 Feng Shui Areas of Your Bagua with exact compass readings, corresponding feng shui elements, directions, life areas, and decor tips.