If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Arkansas put a dent in your wedding plans.
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for an Arkansas marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Requirements may vary as each county in Arkansas could have their own requirements.
You do not have to be a resident of Arkansas. The license can be used anywhere in Arkansas.
ID Requirement in Arkansas
If you are between 18 - 21, you must provide identification in the form of state-certified copy of your birth certificates, an active Military ID card, or a valid passport. Both applicants need to be present. A valid driver's license will suffice if you are over 21.
Previous Marriages in Arkansas:
If you were previously married, you will need to show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county, and state of death of the previous spouse. If you name has changed, you need to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree.
Covenant Marriage Option in Arkansas:
Arkansas Waiting Period:
Arkansas does not have a waiting period.
$35 - $47 approximately, cash only. May vary from county to county.
Other Tests in Arkansas:
No blood or medical tests required to get married in Arkansas.
Proxy Marriages in Arkansas:
No. Arkansas does not allow proxy marriages.
No. Arkansas does not allow cousin marriages.
Common Law Marriages in Arkansas:
No. Arkansas does not allow common law marriages.
Same Sex Marriages in Arkansas:
As of May 10, 2014, the answer is yes. Although in November 2004, Arkansas voters passed a constitutional amendment banning same-sex marriage, it was overturned by Pulaski County Circuit Judge Chris Piazza. The 1997 state law banning gay marriage was also overturned as a violation of the rights of gay couples.
Under 18 in Arkansas:
Parental consent is needed if under 18 years of age. You need to present a state-certified copy of your birth certificate, an active Military ID card, or a valid passport. Your parent must be present to sign the marriage book with the applicants when the license is issued. If a parent is unable to sign, due to death, separation, divorce or other circumstances, you must produce certified papers for verification of those circumstances. Males under the age of 17 and females under 16 cannot marry without an Arkansas court order. This is usually given only in extreme circumstances, such as if the female is pregnant or the couple already has a child together.
Ministers must have their credentials recorded in one of Arkansas' 75 counties.
Witnesses in Arkansas:
Witnesses are not required at a wedding in Arkansas.
An Arkansas marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days. It must be returned used or unused, within 60 days to the County Clerk's Office where you applied for recording or a $100 Bond will be executed against all applicants.
Copy of Arkansas Certificate of Marriage:
Division of Vital Records
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
Fax: (501) 663-2832
Still Confused About Getting Married in Arkansas?
If you are still confused about the different terms used in the marriage license application process, check out these articles:
Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice.
The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
This Marriage site has a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.
Please notify us of any oversights or errors.