Applying for a Marriage License in Kentucky

Wedding Registrar
Daniel Sheehan Photographers/Photodisc/Getty Images

If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Kentucky put a dent in your wedding plans.

Listed below are what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Kentucky marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date. Marriage licenses in Kentucky are obtained from each County Clerks's office. For an interactive site with Kentucky County Clerk info, arranged by county, click here. Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together! Requirements may vary as each county in Kentucky could have their own requirements.

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Kentucky.

ID Requirement in Kentucky:

Picture id such as Drivers License. Having your Social Security card, Birth Certificate, etc. may be helpful.

Previous Marriages:

Most counties in Kentucky will require documentation to prove a previous marriage has been dissolved either through death or divorce.

Covenant Marriage Option:


Waiting Period:

There is no waiting period in Kentucky.

Fees in Kentucky:

The cost of a marriage license in every county in Kentucky is $35. The County Clerks offices will accept cash, certified checks or money orders. In some counties, credit and debit cards are accepted. Check with your local County Clerk's office before you go..

Other Tests:


Proxy Marriages:


Cousin Marriages:

No. Kentucky won't recognize these marriages even if legal in another state.

Common Law Marriages:


Same Sex Marriages:

Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in the state of Kentucky, under the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Obergefell v. Hodges, June 26, 2015.

Under 18:

If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must have the consent of your parents or legal guardian. Custody papers are required if your parents are divorced. The form that you need to have completed is the Consent to Marriage Form (84-FCC-501). It has to be witnessed by two witnesses who are at least 18 years old, signed by your parent or legal guardian, and sworn by the deputy clerk.

If you are a pregnant minor you may apply to a district court judge for permission to marry without parental consent. If you are under 16, you must get approval to marry from the District Court. Minors cannot get married in Kentucky if parents or guardians are not residents of Kentucky.


Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have been licensed in Kentucky to perform weddings, and justices of the peace.


License is valid for thirty (30) days.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Kentucky Department for Public Health
Office of Vital Statistics
275 East Main Street - IE-A
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 564-4212

You can also order and purchase a copy of a certificate of marriage by accessing the office's online portal.


State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Watch Now: How Long Does it Really Take to Plan a Wedding?