If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Missouri put a dent in your wedding plans.
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Missouri marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Requirements may vary as each county in Missouri could have their own requirements.
You will need to apply for your marriage license at the Recorder of Deeds office in any Missouri county. You will need identification and your Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers will be a closed record that is not open to the public.
You do not have to be a resident of Missouri.
You need to show the date that your last marriage ended (final divorce decree) and wait at least 30 days after the final decree before getting married again.
Covenant Marriage Option:
No. What is a covenant marriage?
None. Missouri has repealed the three-day (3) waiting period that Missouri previously required.
It will cost you $58 + to get married in Missouri, plus a $1 fee for each parental consent. Fees may vary county to county. Additionally, some counties only accept cash.
Missouri doesn't require any medical or blood tests.
No. Read more about Proxy Marriages.
No. Read more about Cousin Marriages.
Common Law Marriages:
No. Read more about Common Law Marriages.
Same Sex Marriages:
No. In August, 2004, voters in Missouri overwhelmingly approved a state amendment to the constitution banning same-sex marriage.
If either of you are under 18 years of age, you must have the consent from a custodial parent or your legal guardian. If you are under 15 years of age, you will need the approval of a county judge. However, according to State law, he can only grant approval due to "good cause" or that the conditions surrounding the situation make the marriage "advisable."
Officiants in Missouri:
Any ordained minister, active or retired, who is in good standing with their congregation; Circuit Court or Associate Circuit Court Judge who can't receive compensation for marrying folks; Marriage Commissioners, and Judges (Circuit Court, District Court, or retired) in Missouri may also perform civil weddings.
A marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Order a copy online.
You can also take the request to the Local Health Department or mail to:
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.