Basic Vegetarian Gravy Recipe. What exactly is gravy, and why isn't it vegetarian? Gravy is traditionally made from the fat which drips off of meat when cooking with little more than a thickener added. Vegetarian gravy, however, adds flavor with a few seasonings and uses vegan margarine as a fat. Along with margarine (or, use butter if you prefer and you aren't cooking for vegans), this vegetarian gravy recipe calls for onion, flour, garlic, and soy sauce.
Many vegetarian gravy recipes call for mushrooms, which add a great "meaty" flavor, but this one does not, so it's perfect for people who hate gravy. Want to add a little more flavor? Add a touch of liquid smoke while you stir it all up.
Making a vegetarian gravy can be a bit more of an art than an exact science, as timing, stirring and heat are everything, just like when making a meat-based gravy. So add more or less liquid as needed, but remember, your vegetarian gravy will thicken slightly as it cools just like a non-vegetarian gravy.
Got leftovers? Here's what to do with your vegetarian Thanksgiving leftovers, including gravy.
Heat the margarine over medium heat in a large skillet and sautée the onion for 2 minutes. Add the flour and garlic salt and sautée for 5 more minutes.
Add the vegetable broth and cornstarch, stirring to mix the cornstarch well. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer, stirring frequently to make sure no clumps are formed.
Add the nutritional yeast and soy sauce and reduce heat. Cook for one more minute, stirring. Enjoy your vegetarian gravy! Use it to top off a homemade lentil loaf, mashed potatoes or for a vegetarian Thanksgiving.