Are you planning to get married in Delaware? Here's everything you need to know before filling out your marriage license application. In Delaware marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Peace in each of the state's three counties.: New Castle, Kent County and Sussex County.
You will need to present photo identification such as your driver's license, state ID, or passport.
You do not have to be a resident of Delaware.
You will need to show the original or a certified copy of your divorce decree or the death certificate of a deceased spouse.
Delaware has no covenant marriage laws.
There is a 24-hour waiting period for both residents and non-residents.
Approximately $50 - 100. Cash only in most counties. In Wilmington (New Castle County) and Dover (Kent County) the cost of a marriage license is $70 for Delaware residents and $120 for non-residents. Check with your local County Clerk of he Peace for more information.
Delaware does not permit marriage by proxy.
Delaware does not recognize common-law marriage.
You will need parental consent granted through the Family Court.
Any ordained minister, and clerks of the peace. If you have your marriage ceremony at the office of the Clerk of the Peace, there is a $20+ fee for the civil marriage ceremony.
Licenses are valid for thirty (30) days. If either one of you is on probation or parole, you will need special authorization.
County Marriage Bureau Websites:
Sussex County: http://www.sussexcountyde.gov/marriage-licenses
New Castle County: http://www.nccde.org/126/Marriage-Licenses
Copy of Certificate of Marriage
Office of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19903