How to Get Married in Georgia

Bride and groom hands
Nerida McMurray Photography/Digital Vision/Getty Images

What You Need to Know to Apply for a Marriage License in Georgia:

Start your marriage journey together by both knowing what Georgia's marriage regulations and laws require.

Related Articles: Marriage License Laws | Benefits of Being Married | Secret Marriages | Getting Married 101 | Your Name Change Options

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Georgia. However, if not a resident, you must apply in the county where your marriage is to be performed.

Identification Requirement

You both need to be present to obtain your marriage license. Most counties in Georgia use the Probate Court location as the place to apply for your marriage license.

Premarital Education:

Cobb County offers a free Marital Workshop called FOCUS ON FOREVER. It is a skill-based non-religious workshop designed to address issues concerning communication and listening skills, anger management, and financial planning. Contact the Cobb County Superior Court for more information. By state law, counties in Georgia now charge more for a marriage license if you do not show certification of a premarital education program.

Previous Marriage:

If divorced within six months, you will need to show a copy of your divorce decree.

Some counties require a final divorce decree no matter how long you have been divorced. You can obtain a copy of your final divorce decree from the Superior Court in the county in which you filed for divorce.

Waiting Period:

There is no waiting period for getting married in Georgia.


It costs approximately $65.00 + to get married in Georgia. Most counties will only accept cash. The amount of the marriage license fee will be decreased by showing proof of receiving premarital counseling.

Other Tests:

As of July 1, 2003, blood tests were no longer required in Georgia.

Common-Law Marriages:

No. However, your common-law marriage will be recognized in Georgia if it was created before January 1, 1997.


Under 18:

Georgia changed the laws in 2006 concerning the minimum age to get married.

Most Georgia county websites are stating that in order to apply for a marriage license, both of you have to be 18 years of age.

Some of the county websites are stating that if either of you are 16 or 17 years of age, both parents (either biological or adoptive) or legal guardians must give their consent to your marriage in person and provide a certified copy of your birth certificate along with valid identification. In some counties, a probate judge also has to approve the marriage license application of individuals who are 16 or 17 years old.

Anyone under the age of 16 cannot obtain a marriage license in Georgia.

Cousin Marriages:

Same Sex Marriages:

Who Can Perform a Wedding in Georgia?:

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Still Confused About Getting Married in Georgia?

Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice.The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
This Marriage site has a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.
Please notify us of any oversights or errors.