Getting married in Indiana means that you need to have a marriage license issued by a county clerk in the state. It's a legal formality that requires certain documents, though the state has made it rather easy because you can begin your application online.
Since an Indiana marriage license is valid for 60 days, it's recommended that you not wait until the last minute to start this process. Take care of this at least a month before your wedding date so you have peace of mind on the big day.
Residency and ID Requirements
Indiana residents must apply at the county clerk's office where they live. You do not have to be a resident of the state to get married there, however. If both of you are non-residents, apply for a license through the county clerk where the wedding ceremony will take place.
It's best to check with the specific office about their requirements before you go.
You will need to bring a form of identification with you when applying for the license. This can be a driver's license, state-issued ID, passport, or another ID showing your date of birth. Bringing a certified copy of your birth certificate is recommended because some counties require it, especially if you are younger than 30.
Additionally, you will need to know your Social Security number, though the physical card is not required. The names, last known address, and birthplace of your parents is required as well.
If you wish to make the process a little faster in the office, Indiana provides an online form that allows you to fill out most of the application ahead of time. To finalize the process and receive your license, it is the law that both of you be present at the county clerk's office. That must be done within 14 days of filling out the online application.
If either of you were previously married, you will need to know how the marriage ended (death, divorce, annulment) and the month and year that it occurred. A few counties require a copy of the official divorce decree as well.
Indiana does not have a covenant marriage option.
There is no waiting period in Indiana.
Fees in Indiana
The fees vary slightly from one Indiana county to another, so it's good to call ahead to find out the exact cost. In general, Indiana residents can expect to pay $18, while residents of other states or countries will pay around $60.
Most counties only accept cash or money orders as payment and it's wise to assume that personal checks are not accepted.
No other tests are required in Indiana to get married.
Proxy marriages are not allowed in the state, so both of you must be present to apply for the license and during the ceremony.
A marriage between first cousins is only permitted if both individuals are at least 65 years of age. Other than that provision, marrying a relative closer than a second cousin is not allowed.
Indiana does not recognize common-law marriages unless it has been legalized by another state.
Same-sex marriage was first legalized in Indiana in October 2014 when the U.S. Supreme Court denied a review of the state's same-sex marriage case. In June of 2015, the Court ruled in Obergefell vs. Hodges that is was unconstitutional to ban gay marriage anywhere in the country.
However, it should be noted that as of 2018, Indiana still has a law (IC 31-11-1-1) that prohibits same-sex marriages.
For anyone under 18, a certified copy of your birth certificate is required. If you are 17 years old, you must apply for the license with both of your parents or legal guardians. They will need to sign the consent portion of the application.
In addition to those requirements, if you are 15 or 16 years old you must petition the Circuit Court via a "Permission to Marry" form. The cost of filing this petition is $156.00 even if the Judge refuses to allow the couple to marry.
Marriages may be performed by a member of the clergy, including a minister, priest, bishop, rabbi, and imam. Civil ceremonies can be officiated by a judge, a magistrate, mayor, a clerk of the circuit court, or a clerk or clerk-treasurer of a city or town. The Governor and Lieutenant Governor and members of the general assembly may officiate as well, but cannot be paid for their services.
In Indiana, the marriage license is valid for 60 days. This means that you must have the ceremony and the license returned to the county clerk to be recorded within that time. If you don't do this, you will need to reapply and pay another fee for a new marriage license.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage
If you need a copy of your official marriage certificate in Indiana, contact the clerk of court in the county where it was issued.
There is a public library of marriages available online through the Indiana State Department of Health. This can be useful if you're researching your family's genealogy. The website also provides a downloadable State Form 54764 if you need to purchase a copy of a marriage record.
The above information is intended only as guidance to help you get started in the marriage application process. It should not be regarded as legal advice and you should contact an attorney if you have any questions. Additionally, it's best to verify all information with your local county clerk prior to making any wedding plans as state and county requirements change frequently.