If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Minnesota put a dent in your wedding plans.
Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Minnesota marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Requirements may vary as each county in Minnesota could have their own requirements. Some counties provide an online application process and some recommend scheduling an appointment when applying for a marriage license. Call the county where you plan on getting your marriage license for specific information.
You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota.
You must provide proper identification such as your driver's license or a state ID card along with providing your Social Security numbers. Additionally, if either of you has a felony conviction, proof of your service papers need to be provided. (MS 259.13)
If you were previously married, you must be able to provide information such as "the party's married name, and the date, place, and court in which the marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place of death of the former spouse." Source: 517.08 Application for License.
2012 Minnesota Statutes.
Minnesota has a waiting period of five (5) working days. This waiting period can be waived by a district judge if the circumstances are considered to be "extraordinary."
$115 for those who don't provide written proof of 12 hours of premarital education.
$40 fee for those who do take an authorized premarital education course that has a minimum of 12 hours.
We recommend that you call before you leave to get your marriage license application to make sure that the fee hasn't changed. Be prepared to pay in cash.
Minnesota does not require blood tests.
No. However, if only one of you can be in person to apply for the marriage license you can fill out a as long as all the required information for the absent partner is provided. Call the Clerk of Court to see how to get your partner's signature notarized. Requirements may vary from county to county.
Yes. There is a waiver of a portion of the marriage license fees to couples who do a 12-hour premarital education course. The course must use a premarital inventory, teaching about communication skills, and conflict management skills. According to the Minnesota Statute, "The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33.
Additionally, make sure that you have proof of attending the premarital education course on a state approved form.
Same Sex Marriages:
Yes, as of August 1, 2013. More Info
Brides and grooms who are 16 and 17 years old need parental consent or court approval.
Minnesota Statute 517.02
Judges, clerks of court, court commissioners, and licensed ministers, priests or rabbis, as well as representatives of Bahai, Hindu, Quaker and American Indian religious groups are authorized to perform weddings in Minnesota.
You will need at least two witnesses at your wedding ceremony. The witnesses must be at least 16 years of age.
A license is valid for six (6) months.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
You can purchase your Certificate of Marriage from the county that you applied for your license.
Still Confused About Getting Married in Minnesota?
If you are still confused about the different terms used in the marriage license application process, check out these articles:
Please note that we make every effort to offer you common-sense marriage advice and helpful information about marriage on this website, but we are not attorneys and the articles on the site are not to be construed as legal advice.
The information in this article was accurate when it was published. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
This Marriage site has a world-wide audience and marriage laws and regulations vary from state to state and country to country. When in doubt, seek legal counsel.
Please notify us of any oversights or errors.