Many couples like getting married in Vermont due to Vermont's Temporary Officiant program which lets a friend or relative perform your marriage ceremony. Another reason for weddings to be popular in Vermont is that since 2009 Vermont has allowed same-sex marriage.
Driver's licenses or a certified copy of your birth certificate is acceptable. You will both need to know your mothers' maiden names, and the states where your parents were born.
Residency Requirement in Vermont:
You do not have to be a resident of Vermont. However, residents need to apply for a license in the town where one of them resides. Nonresidents should apply for a license in the county where they will be married.
A certified copy of the divorce decree is required. A plain copy of the death certificate is all that is required if your spouse is deceased.
Covenant Marriage Option:
No waiting period
approximately $45.00 plus $10.00 for a certified copy of the license. Some counties may require cash or travelers' checks only.
No tests required
Yes, however this may be limited to Vermont residents. According to the brochure provided by the Vermont Department of Health, "First cousins, who are Vermont residents, or residents of another state where marriage between first cousins is allowed, may marry each other in Vermont.
You cannot marry in Vermont to evade the laws of the state where you live." We recommend calling the county clerk where you want to get married to verify this requirement.
Common Law Marriage:
Same Sex Marriage:
Yes. Vermont became the fourth state to allow gay marriages and the first state to approve same-sex marriage by a vote of the legislature.
According to The Boston Globe, and on the official web site of the state of Vermont, the new law took effect on Sept. 1, 2009.
Applicants under the age of 18, but older than 16, need signed parental or guardian consent. As of September 1, 2009, due to S. 115 anyone under the age of 16 cannot be married in Vermont.
Authorized persons to perform weddings in Vermont are judges, supreme court justices, assistant judges, justice of the peaces, and ordained or licensed clergymen. Non-resident clergy need to file for a permit from the county Probate Court where the marriage will take place.
Through Act 148, Vermont allows you to have a friend or a family member be the officiant of your wedding through the Temporary Officiant program. After paying the $100 fee and registering for the program, anyone meeting the requirements can be authorized to solemnize a specific wedding ceremony.
The license is valid for 60 days.
Obtain a Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
Mail a copy of the Vital Records Request Form to:
Vermont Department of Health
Vital Records Unit
108 Cherry Street
P.O. Box 70
Burlington, Vermont 05402
- The cost for a certified Marriage Certificate is $10.00
- The cost for a non-certified Marriage Certificate is $2.00
Please make checks payable to: "City of Burlington"
A request by mail will generally be processed and sent to you within 2 - 4 business days from receipt. Please include the following:
- Your check or money order made payable to: "City of Burlington"
- A self-addressed stamped envelope
- Include the full name of both parties and date of marriage on the request form
State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important, especially since the passage of S. 115, that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.