Please note that state and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
Idaho ID Requirement
When you apply for a marriage license in Idaho, a birth certificate and driver's license is required along with your Social Security Number.
Idaho Residence Requirement
You do not have to be a resident of Idaho.
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be supplied.
Premarital Education in Idaho
Waiting Period in Idaho
No waiting period.
Idaho Marriage License Fees
Costs for getting married in Idaho can vary from county to county. Please contact the county clerk where you want to get married to find out cost and method of payment accepted. Some counties only accept cash.
Other Tests in Idaho
As required by Idaho Code 32-412A, you both need to read and sign a premarital AIDS educational pamphlet.
Proxy Marriage in Idaho
Proxy marriage is not permitted.
Cousin Marriage in Idaho
First cousins can not marry in Idaho.
Common-Law Marriage In Idaho
Your common-law marriage will be recognized in Idaho only if it was created before January 1, 1996.
If you are 16 or 17 years of age, you will need to have a certified copy or your original birth certificate, or a passport, or a driver's license or state I.D.
card. You must be accompanied by one of your parents or your legal guardian and have written parental consent on the Affidavit of Consent to Marriage of Minor. If you are under 16 years of age, you will also need a court order.
Priests or ministers of any denomination, and judges, or other designated officials, i.e., mayor or governor may perform weddings.
The license doesn't expire.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage
Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
450 W. State St., 1st Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720