The requirements for getting married in Maine are pretty basic. One difference is that Maine does not have Justices of the Peace, so in addition to the wedding officiants authorized in most states, lawyers admitted to the Maine Bar and Maine Notaries can perform marriages in Maine.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
If you are over 24 years of age, you will just need to show your driver's licenses. Otherwise, you need to provide your birth certificate or a passport. You also need to provide your Social Security numbers.
You do not have to be a resident of Maine, although residents need to apply in one of the towns in which they reside.
If previously married, you will need to show a certified copy (raised seal) of the divorce from or death certificate of the last spouse.
Maine has no covenant marriage laws.
No waiting period.
Approximately $30, cash only.
No other tests.
You can not get married by proxy in Maine.
Maine does not recognize Common-Law Marriage.
First cousins can marry, only if they are over a certain age or cannot bear children, or if they get genetic counseling.
Maine has allowed same-sex couples to get married since December 29, 2012.
Those who are 16 or 17 years old will need parental consent. Anyone under the age of 16 needs written parental consent and the written approval of a judge.
Any ordained ministers or clergymen who have been licensed by the secretary of State, as well as Maine notaries public and members of the Maine Bar.
You need two witnesses at your Maine wedding ceremony.
The Maine marriage license is valid for 90 days.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage
Office of Vital Statistics
State House Station #11
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Phone: (207) 287-3184
Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!