If you've just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two of you! Don't let the marriage license laws of Maryland put a dent in your wedding plans.
Listed below are what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Maryland marriage license at your local County Clerk's office. For a list of all the County Clerks in the state of Maryland, click here.
Getting this legal aspect of your wedding taken care of about a month before your wedding date is recommended. Congratulations and much happiness as you begin your lifetime journey together!
Maryland Marriage License Requirements
Note that requirements may vary as each county in Maryland could have their own guidelines.
If you are between 18 and 21, you must provide identification in the form of a drivers license or birth certificate. Only one applicant needs to be present. We recommend bringing identification with you even if you are over 21.
You do not have to be a resident of Maryland. However, you must be married in the county where you purchased your license.
Maryland requires that you show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of your previous spouse.
No, there is not a covenant marriage option.
There is a waiting period of 48 hours in Maryland to get married.
The charge varies from county to county, but it is likely to cost between $35 and $60 to get married in Maryland. In Silver Spring (Montgomery County) the cost of a marriage license is $55. In Baltimore (Baltimore County) it's $35 -- and that County Clerk accepts cash only. In Annapolis (Anne Arundel County) the cost is $55; they accept cash and credit cards (no checks.)
A marriage license fee discount is offered by the state of Maryland if the couple has completed premarital counseling one year before they apply for the marriage license. The amount of the discount is determined by the governing body of the county. Check with your local County Clerk's office for more details.
No blood test is required.
No, proxy marriages are not allowable.
Yes, cousin marriages are allowable.
Common Law Marriages
No, common law marriages are not allowable.
Yes, same-sex marriages are granted as of January 1, 2013.
Parental consent is needed if under 18 years of age. If you are between 16-18 years of age, one of your parents or guardian must be with you and provide written consent.
If you are under 16 years of age, you will need both the written consent of your custodial parent or guardian and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.
If you are under 18, pregnant or have a child, and show a certificate from a licensed physician stating you are pregnant or have had a child, the parental consent requirement may be waived.
An officiant must be an official of a religious order, a deputy clerk, or a judge.
Period of Validity
Marriage licenses are valid for 6 months.
How to Get a Copy of a Certificate of Marriage
Contact the following address with your request:
Maryland Division of Vital Records
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
P.O. Box 68760
Baltimore, MD 21215-0020
Telephone: (410) 764-3038
Please note that state and county marriage license requirements often change. The information above is guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.