Top Scouting Organizations for Kids

Scouting is a great way to get your child involved. Through scouting organizations, children make friends, develop skills and become involved in their community.

You may think of Boy Scouts of America or Girls Scouts of the USA, and these probably are the best known scouting organizations. There are, however, probably more choices than you realize.

What scout group is a good choice for your child? Read on.

  • 01 of 06
    Boy scouts
    Inti St Clair/Blend Images/Getty Images

    The Boy Scouts of America serves boys from 1st through 12 grades and girls ages 14 to 20 in 3 different programs:

    • Boy Scouts: Traditional scouting for boys in grades 6 to 12.
    • Cub Scouts: Boys in grades 1 to 5 participate in traditional scouting activities. Parental involvement is strongly encouraged throughout.
    • Venturing: An intense and challenging scouting program for girls and boys ages 14 through 20.

    All of the BSA programs promote responsibility and leadership and are great places for your...MORE child to meet other children and learn the values and skills that will help him grow into an adult.

  • 02 of 06
    Girl scouts
    Hero Images/Getty Images

    Girl Scouts of the USA serves girls from Kindergarten to 12th grade in four age levels:

    • Daisies: K and 1st grade
    • Brownies: 1st to 3rd grades
    • Juniors: 3rd to 6th grades
    • Girls 11 to 17: 6th to 12th grades

    Girl Scouting gives girls the opportunity to develop confidence in themselves as young ladies in our modern world. The Girl Scout program strives to keep up and includes various technology and science activities as well as the "traditional" sewing and cooking. The program is progressive...MORE through the levels and teaches girls responsibility, leadership and values.

  • 03 of 06
    Kids running through field
    Alistair Berg

    Frontier Girls is a new scouting organization designed to meet the needs of rural girls. It serves girls of all faiths from Kindergarten through 12th grade and focuses on the traditional elements of scouting including Patriotism, leadership and character development. They offer a large range of badges for skill development. They also focus on community service, and each troop must complete service projects each year.

    This group is just getting started, so please learn more about the Frontier...MORE Girls and contact them if you are interested. It is an exciting opportunity for girls of all ages.​

  • 04 of 06

    SpiralScouts International

    Kids playing tug of war Images

    SpiralScouts International offers scouting for boys and girls ages 3 to 18. It began as a pagan scouting organization to provide a place for children who aren't comfortable subscribing to specific religious beliefs. SpiralScouts is open to children of all faiths. Their activities include all of the traditional scouting activities with a focus on respect for the Earth and others.

    They have two age groups:

    • SpiralScouts: ages 8-14
    • PathFinders: ages 14 and up
    Continue to 5 of 6 below.
  • 05 of 06

    American Heritage Girls

    Girls at camp
    Hero Images/Getty Images

    The American Heritage Girls is a Christ-centered scouting organization for girls of all ages. The American Heritage Girls program provides girls with many opportunities including life skill enhancement, leadership, and character, social and spiritual development. It includes five different age levels:

    • Pathfinder: Kindergarten or age 5
    • Tenderfoot for grades 1-3
    • Explorer for grades 4-6
    • Pioneer for grades 7-8
    • Patriot for high schoolers grades 9-12
  • 06 of 06

    Campfire USA

    Little girl by tent
    Markus Bernhard/Getty Images

    Originally Campfire Girls, Campfire expanded to include boys and became Campfire USA in 1975. They now offer programs to all children from pre-K through graduation with an emphasis on service, self-reliance and leadership.

    • Little Stars: Pre-Kindergarten (ages 3 to 5)
    • Starflight: Kindergarten through 2nd grade
    • Adventure: 3rd through 5th grade
    • Discovery: 6th through 8th grade
    • Horizon: 9th through 12th grade