State-by-State Marriage Waiting Periods

A chapel decorated for a wedding
Andreas Rentz / Staff / Getty Images

Each state has different laws regarding getting married. One thing each state, including the District of Columbia, has in common is that they all require getting a marriage license. Some states are less restrictive than others. More than half of the states have no waiting times. Wisconsin has the longest waiting period—six days.

In order to get married, some of the variables that change from state to state include the need for blood tests, waiting periods before applying for the license and getting the license, and how soon you can get married after you are issued the license.

Another thing to keep in mind is that most marriage licenses have an expiration. With the exception of the District of Columbia and five other states (Georgia, Idaho, Mississippi, New Mexico, South Carolina), marriage licenses from all the other states have a timer on how long they are valid. The shortest is Oklahoma, which expires 10 days after its issued.

Why the Wait?

A waiting period was mandated to ensure that couples have time to really think things out and be certain that they're making the right decision. For states that require a wait, there's no spur of the moment, rash decisions to tie the knot.

Most states allow you to get married immediately after a marriage license is issued. There are seven exceptions. Delaware, Illinois, and New York have a one-day wait. Maryland has a two-day wait. And, Iowa, Louisiana, and Texas have a three-day wait.

State-by-State Marriage Waiting Times

Laws change all the time; use this chart as a guide only. Before you make wedding or travel plans, you should check with your county clerk or local marriage license office to confirm that the rules have not changed. For example, most states have eliminated the need for blood tests. Montana is the only state that still requires a blood test (although it can be waived).

State Waiting Time
Alabama None
Alaska 3 business days
Arizona None
Arkansas None
California None
Colorado None
Connecticut None
Delaware 24 hours. If both nonresidents, 96 hours.
District of Columbia 5 days
Florida No waiting period for Florida residents who have both completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the last 12 months. There is a three-day waiting period for Florida residents who have not taken the course.
Georgia None
Hawaii None
Idaho None
Illinois 24 hours
Indiana None
Iowa 3 business days
Kansas 3 business days
Kentucky None
Louisiana 72 hours. Out-of-state couples can get married in New Orleans without a wait.
Maine None
Maryland 48 hours
Massachusetts 3 days
Michigan 3 days
Minnesota 5 days
Mississippi None
Missouri 3 days
Montana None
Nebraska None
Nevada None
New Hampshire 3 days
New Jersey 72 hours
New Mexico None
New York 24 hours
North Carolina None
North Dakota None
Ohio None
Oklahoma None
Oregon 3 days
Pennsylvania 3 days
Rhode Island None
South Carolina 24 hours
South Dakota None
Tennessee None
Texas 72 hours
Utah None
Vermont None
Virginia None
Washington 3 days
West Virginia None
Wisconsin 6 days
Wyoming None