Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin soup
Susie Cushner/The Image Bank/Getty Images
  • 40 mins
  • Prep: 20 mins,
  • Cook: 20 mins
  • Yield: 4 to 6 bowls (4 to 6 servings)

During the fall and winter months, there are few things as comforting as a bowl of savory-sweet pumpkin soup. Served with dairy-free crackers or bread, this is a hearty, warming meal for lunch or dinner.

For best results, use a non-dairy milk alternative that contains carrageenan, which will help keep the liquid stabilized during heating.

Serves 4 to 6

What You'll Need

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 cup onion (finely chopped)
  • 1 clove garlic (finely chopped)
  • 1 medium leek (white parts only, chopped)
  • 1 cup apple (or pear, chopped)
  • 3 Tbsp. sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt (plus more to taste)
  • 1 15-ounce can vegetable broth (low-sodium)
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 15-ounce cans pumpkin (puree)
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or soymilk, see Head Note)
  • Black pepper to taste
  • Garnish: cayenne
  • Garnish: fresh herbs (such as dill or parsley)

How to Make It

  1. In a medium-large stock pot (3-5 quarts), heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic, and cook for 3-4 minutes, or until the onion is translucent. Add the leek, apple, sugar, spices and salt, and cook for 1-2 minutes, stirring constantly until the leek is softened. Add the vegetable broth and water. Bring the mixture to a boil and then turn down to a simmer for about 15-20 minutes, or until the apple pieces are very tender.
  1. Stir in the pumpkin puree. Working in batches, puree the mixture in a blender until smooth, adding a bit of the coconut milk and almond milk to each batch until all has been added. Return the soup to the pot and heat over low heat, stirring constantly, to the desired temperature. Add salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and fresh herbs or your choice.

**This recipe is suitable for dairy-free, egg free, and vegan diets, but as with any recipe intended for persons with allergies or dietary restrictions, make sure to read all nutritional labels carefully to make sure that there are no hidden dairy-derived ingredients (or gluten, egg, or wheat ingredients, if these apply to you).