Agar Agar

Gelatin cubes
Scherer, Jim / Getty Images

Agar Agar is a vegetarian gelatin substitute produced from a variety of seaweed vegetation. It is sold in health food stores in both flake and powder varieties, and can be used in a variety of dairy-free and vegan recipes as a stabilizing and thickening agent for custards, puddings, sauces and even vegetarian marshmallows.

To use agar flakes in recipes, traditional instructions call for 1 T. of agar flakes to every cup of water or juice, but these measurements may vary from recipe to recipe.

Like animal-based gelatin, the agar is dissolved in the liquid in a small saucepan over medium-high heat, brought to a boil and then simmered until slightly thickened, about 5-7 minutes. It is then chilled in the refrigerator until set and typically enjoyed cold.

Try some of these Dairy-Free Recipes that use Agar Flakes:

  • Crème Caramel Custards
  • Homemade Vegetarian Marshmallows
  • Marshmallow Moon Pies

Vegan Chocolate Pots de Crème

Pronunciation: AH - gahr

Also Known As: Agar, Agar Agar, Agar Flakes, Agar Gelatin, Agar Powder