Tempeh - What is Tempeh?

Grilled tempeh
Lauren Krohn/Getty Images

Definition: Although it may be new to the west, tempeh is a soy food that has been eaten in Asia for hundreds of years.

What Is Tempeh?

Tempeh is made from cooked and slightly fermented soybeans and formed into a patty, similar to a very firm veggie burger. Many commercially prepared brands add other grains, such as barley, and also add spices and extra flavors. Although tempeh is made from soy, it has a unique taste and is mildly flavorful on its own, unlike tofu.

See also: The best vegetarian tempeh recipes to try

If you aren't fond of tofu, tempeh is also very high in protein and calcium, as well as beneficial isoflavones, but tastes nothing like tofu. Tempeh has a textured and nutty flavor.

How to Use Tempeh

Because it is a low-fat and high-protein food, many vegetarians choose to include tempeh in their diet on a regular basis. Try adding some to a stir fry instead of tofu, or crumble into soups or meatless chili. Because of its firm texture, you need to slice tempeh into small dices or cubes, not more than 3/4 inch thick. Tempeh can be found in the refrigerated section of most health food stores and in the natural foods aisle of well-stocked grocery stores.

Nutritional Value of Tempeh:

Depending on the brand, one serving of tempeh (100 grams) provides around 200 calories, 18.2 grams of protein (that's even more protein per gram than tofu!), and 10% of the RDA of both calcium and iron (according to CalorieCount).

Tempeh is a naturally cholesterol-free food, as are all vegan foods.
See also: Protein for vegetarians


Tempeh Recipes:

See also: More vegetarian tempeh recipes to try